I Get It: Golf is Fun

By borlandhousebb

August 1, 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

You must understand that I am a self-proclaimed non-golfer and proud of it.  However, last week I learned a startling truth: golf is fun.

You see, I have always poo-pooed the “country club lifestyle” complete with collared shirts, madras bermuda shorts, and grown-up women named Bunny.  But, this summer I decided to step out of my comfort zone and step onto Winding Hills Golf Course, 2 miles from the Borland House.  My husband Bill, an avid golfer, was thrilled that I was willing to shed decades of bias and give it a try. For my debut, my goal was to be invisible and blend into the landscape.  So, a 10 PM tee-time seemed ideal to me.  However, Bill prudently suggested that we play when the course was actually open. So, we headed to the first tee around 1:00 PM after the die-hards and before the leagues started.

Winding Hills is a pristine executive course with a mixture of par 3 and par 4 holes–just the right distance.  The rolling hills are landscaped with native plants and magnificent stone walls.  For two hours I thought only of that next shot.  Not once did I think about the sheets I needed to iron or the cookies I needed to bake or the paperwork I needed to catch up on. 

Finally, I get it.  Golf is total escape, total relaxation.

The next time we go out I’m going to hit the ball over, not around, the pond.  And, I don’t care if it takes me 2 dozen shots to do it.  I don’t care how many foursomes are muttering obscenities waiting behind me!  I don’t care if I lose every single ball in my bag and…!

Leave a Reply

